MY THOUGHTS ON VALENTINE’S DAY

Today I have spent most of the day pondering about Valentine’s Day.

I sit and ponder...
I sit and ponder…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After a little research I discovered that Valentine’s day dates back all the way to the Roman times and to a Christian priest called Valentine who was killed for conducting illegal marriages. In the 1300’s Valentines day became associated with love and romance and sweethearts began to send each other cards in the 17th century. 

The celebration of Valentine’s day now seems very far removed from its origins and seems to have been taken over by consumerism, I see adverts everywhere of companies trying to cash in on Valentine’s day. How happy I am that us cats are not so concerned by something so corruptible as money!

As a cat I do not place very much importance on human customs to begin with but after much thought I have decided that this one is particularly very silly! A very important attribute of being a cat is that we like to do as we please and we care not for being told what we should do, therefore the idea of celebrating a custom in which we are told that we have to be romantic and give gifts and cards to our lovers on a certain day is very against the cat philosophy and way of life. I will be romantic if and when I please and if I want to give romantic gifts I will give them when I want and not because of some silly human custom! 

In addition to what I have already said,  Valentine’s day could make one feel sad if one does not have a girlfriend or boyfriend, what about celebrating the freedom of being single and loving oneself?! It also encourages people to make fools of themselves by sending cards to people they quite fancy only to find that the feeling is not mutual hence making themselves look like purrthetic idiots!  A cat would never lower ones self to this level of purrthetic behaviour! 

So, to answer the question that everyone has been thinking which is how will such an eligible bachelor such as myself spend Valentine’s day, I can announce that I will be going on an Anti Valentine’s day “date” with my good friend and previous object of my affections – Gypsy the cat. We have both agreed that we would like to celebrate our choice to stay free and single by having a get together and being the least romantic as possible! I will let you all know how my Anti Valentine’s non-date with Gypsy the cat goes on Friday.

For now I must get some beauty sleep! Au revoir! (one of my human’s has been learning French and I have been secretly picking it up!)

Purrs…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

17 responses to “MY THOUGHTS ON VALENTINE’S DAY

  1. OH, Morris, you be my MAN! This is how I feel too. How silly it is, you are so right, to set one day aside for LOVE. Shouldn’t we LOVE every day? I mean, isn’t it our natural nature to LOVE?

    Valentine’s Day was invented to give the card companies a lot of money. That is what I think.

    I was thinking all day today and getting a wee worried. See, usually I hear the words or I write them to someone, the very words that are on Petals. I have nothing for Valentines Day. Which is unusual.

    So, I feel the pressure. Will I fall and act silly and wish all a Valentine’s Day? Or write about Love? Hmmm….maybe that is what I will do. What Love means to me and how I refuse to get pulled into a silly holiday.

    Hurrumph! These humans! Honestly. I cannot believe I am one. I am more KAT. Stuck in human skin. That’s just awful. xxoo, Mom BonZo

    • Perhaps you are a trans-species human, perhaps the doctors will be able to change you into a cat? I have seen them do some very strange things to humans on the TV so I think it could be possible!

      You are wise not to fall victim to the pressures of this silly human custom and I agree with all you say. I will look forward to reading your post. I’m going to have a little look at your blog now, I can’t wait to see your latest posts and catch up!

      Love and purrs, Morris xx

  2. Morris what can a mere human such as I am say to a cat of such profound wisdom? Never a truer word uttered by one so utterly handsome and well genius

  3. Oh Morris…what a profound feline you are…our girls are all squee over their dates…and i don’t really do Valentines day..me and hubby prefer to have an early night ..sleep…the gift that keeps on giving…maybe we are feline 😉 hugs Fozziemum xx

  4. Well Morris, I do hope you and your non-date Gypsy have a great non-Valentine’s Day get-together tomorrow. You are ever so wise……it’s nice that you have someone you can hang out with and have non-celebrations with!

    Hugs, Sammy

  5. Hey, Morris, tell your human I absolutely love the way she dresses. She is one Kool KAT. Since YOU get all the attention, I thought this once would be nice for HER. Gotta go now and take a WET shower. Yup, I’m so brave I’m doin’ it again. The shower. Love, Mom BonZo

    • Oh I will do 🙂 Is it the cat shoes you like? I quite like them but they are sometimes confusing, I often mistaken them for Kittens and panic that I am a father and have forgotten! I will have to take some pictures of all the human’s cat themed things and put them on my blog, there are quite a few! Purrs, Morris xx

Leave a Reply

